Keynote Speakers

This year we have three outstanding keynote speakers: Adi Shamir, Bart Preneel, and Veronique Cortier.

Véronique Cortier

CNRS research director at Loria (Nancy, France)

Véronique Cortier is CNRS research director at Loria (Nancy, France). In 2003, she received her Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the École Normale Supérieure de Cachan, from which she graduated.

Her research focuses on formal verification of security protocols, in particular e-voting, using formal techniques such as first order logic or rewriting.

She has co-authored more than 80 publications on these topics. She is editorial member of TISSEC, JCS, and FnT in Security and Privacy and member of the steering committee of CSF and POST.

She was chair of chair of HotSpot 2016, co-chair of Post 2020, E-Vote-ID 2019 and 2018, FMA 2014, CSF 2012, SECCO 2010, FCS-PrivMod 2010 and FCS 2009.

In 2010, she was awarded an ERC starting grant and in 2015, she received the INRIA – Académie des Sciences young researcher award. She received the PhD thesis Award 2004 from Le Monde and the PhD thesis Award 2003 from SPECIF.

Bart Preneel

Professor, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Bart Preneel received the Electr. Eng. and Ph.D. degrees from the KU Leuven (Belgium). He is a Full Professor at the KU Leuven where he heads the COSIC research group. He was visiting professor at five universities in Europe. He has authored more than 400 scientific publications and is inventor of 4 patents.

Bart Preneel has participated to more than 30 EU funded projects and has coordinated five of those including the EU NoE ECRYPT. He has served as panel member and chair for the European Research Council. Since 1997 he is serving on the Board of Directors of the IACR (International Association for Cryptologic Research), from 2002-2007 as vice president and from 2008-2013 as president. He is a member of the Permanent Stakeholders group of ENISA and of the Academia Europaea.

He has served on the advisory board of several companies and EU projects. He has served as program chair of 15 international conferences and he has been invited speaker at more than 90 conferences in 40 countries. In 2014 he received the RSA Award for Excellence in the Field of Mathematics.

Adi Shamir

Professor, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Adi Shamir received his PhD degree in Computer Science from the Weizmann Institute in 1977. After a year postdoc at University of Warwick, he did research at MIT from 1977–1980 before returning to be a member of the faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science at the Weizmann Institute. Starting from 2006, he is also an invited professor at École Normale Supérieure in Paris.

He is a co-inventor of the RSA algorithm (along with Ron Rivest and Len Adleman), a co-inventor of the Feige–Fiat–Shamir identification scheme (along with Uriel Feige and Amos Fiat), one of the inventors of differential cryptanalysis and has made numerous contributions to the fields of cryptography and computer science, including the Shamir secret sharing scheme, the breaking of the Merkle-Hellman knapsack cryptosystem, visual cryptography, and the TWIRL and TWINKLE factoring devices.

Shamir has also made contributions to computer science outside of cryptography, such as finding the first linear time algorithm for 2-satisfiability and showing the equivalence of the complexity classes PSPACE and IP.

Shamir has received a number of awards, including the following:  the 2002 ACM Turing Award, together with Rivest and Adleman in recognition of his contributions to cryptography. The Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award, the Erdős Prize of the Israel Mathematical Society, the 1986 IEEE W.R.G. Baker Award, the UAP Scientific Prize, the Vatican’s PIUS XI Gold Medal, the 2000 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award, the Israel Prize, in 2008, for computer sciences. He holds an honorary DMath (Doctor of Mathematics) degree from the University of Waterloo. In 2018 he was elected to the Royal Society as a foreign member.


✆ Contact the organizing committee: esorics2019 [at] uni [dot] lu


✆ Contact the organizing committee: esorics2019 [at] uni [dot] lu


✆ Contact the organizing committee: esorics2019 [at] uni [dot] lu


✆ Contact the organizing committee: esorics2019 [at] uni [dot] lu